276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I listened to the audiobook and, while I could follow it after a couple of minutes getting used to the reader’s Yorkshire accent, anybody who has problems with accents should think twice before trying this in audiobook form. M. Hall for an excellent read, I shall definitely be recommending this delightful and interesting book to my family and friends. All the women seem to be different ages too and these are left unspecified - Jan has a teenager doing their A-levels still at home whereas Topsy has a thirty some year old, and Jan has a grandchild at primary school. But one fateful week, as they are catching up with a slice of cake, they bump into their ex-colleague, Topsy. Pat was perhaps the hardest to get to know, the most reticent in getting involved, but there was still something about her and I could recognise her fears and understand her reluctance to get involved, especially as there was potential trouble at home too.

If you like a good cosy crime, with emotional and thoughtful undercurrent, this may well be the book for you. The story is not trying to be anything it isn’t - it is a beautifully written, good old cosy story and amen to that. Also, Topsy’s death exposes a series of schemes targeting seniors, which has all three of the friends understandably upset. Why is the young man, a friend of the dead woman’s daughter and her friend, constantly hanging around her house?If you’re looking for an ultra-cosy murder, and let’s face it plenty of readers are, then give this a go. It may just be me, but I found that this group of retired primary school teachers really didn’t really have enough individualism going on for me to be able to completely tell them apart.

Fans of Agatha Christie, Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very first page. I loved this book' NetGalley review 'Cosy mystery at its best with a cast of loveable characters, a truly satisfying read! A Spoonful of Murder is an eventful British cozy with coffee klatches, financial fraud, a difficult death, muddled memories, and firm friends. Every week, Jan, Thelma and Liz, three retired primary school teachers, meet for coffee at the local garden centre (mainly because it has impressive toilets). I've been to most of the towns described in the book and I really liked that I could visualise where they were.

Now with those other books, I still have a clear, strong image (months after reading the last) of the differing characteristics of Elizabeth, Ibraham, Ron and Joy. On this particular Thursday, by chance, their friend and former colleague, Topsy Joy, joins them and sits down for a chat.

All the characters were so believable and certainly were in my experience true to type for their ages.they wouldn't have met Topsy and KellyAnne and, crucially, Thelma wouldn't have come across Topsy crying in the toilets, which they all agreed was really the start of things. Childless, and married to a college professor, Teddy, Thelma fills her days with charity work - hiding a heartbreaking secret and a inner core as vulnerable and uncertain as her more emotive friends. Recently there has been an upsurge in cosy mysteries featuring more mature amateur detectives, a modern take on Miss Marple. When Topsy dies in her sleep after supposedly mistakenly taking too much of her heart medication, the three learn troubling facts about a number of people connected to Topsy that make them suspicious that Topsy may have been murdered and, even if not, was being victimized and by possibly more than one person.

As the daughter of a teacher, I found that their interactions and preoccupations evoked a sense of nostalgia for listening to my mother and her colleagues-friends chatter during quilting nights. It’s all there - so many threads woven into the fabric of realistic everyday existence, and touching, in some cases poignantly, on the effect our actions can have on those around us. I loved the conversational style of dialogue, the observational comments and the asides which were almost worthy of Alan Bennett. As Thelma often wonders, when there are no children, who will look after the senior citizen trying to navigate this minefield?It follows a close group of ex-teachers who are thrust into a murder mystery when one of their friends meets an untimely end. It gave me all the cosy … Really enjoyable characters that you feel like you've known for years once you finish the book.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment